Dollars Make Sense.

Don’t Be Mad That I Fucked Your Dad.

Posted in music. by Jason Mekkam on June 3, 2015

I have Vine on my phone – the app the lets you watch and upload six second clips.  I don’t ever really upload anything, but I’ve definitely lost multiple minutes of life mindlessly scrolling through 7,506,598 variations of Welven Da Great’s Deeeeez Nuts.

Vine’s biggest plus is that it’s steady unintentionally introduced me to many a new rapping musics – my ears knew Bobby Shmurda’s “Hot Nigga”, ILoveMackonnen’s “Tuesday”, Rae Sremmurd’s “No Type” and Fetty Wap’s “Trap Queen” as viral video soundtracks first and chart topping singles second.

Similarly this week I came across a short loop of “Miracle Gro” by The Buttress – I posted the full thing at the top of this page because I want you to watch it and because I love you. I had dig around for the full clip – there was no information regarding the rapper woman’s name nor the title of her masterpiece in video’s caption nor comment section. I had to hunt it down like the mother fucker who shot Bambi’s moms. I did so by Googling the line the stuck out to me like a black polar bear: “Don’t be mad that I fucked your dad.”

The line stuck with me because of it’s uniqueness. Rappity rap rapp is dominated by heterosexual men that love rappity rapping about having sex with women (in all my years studying the sexual proclivities of rappers based soley on their music videos I never once have been under the impression that rappers were against sleeping with womens that too slept with womens) including your moms so I’ve only ever heard someone say they were going to fuck or have already fucked the male human fifty percent responsible for their existence once. And that time it was mind-blowing because the dude’s rap was so fucking terrible and it didn’t make any sense.

Here it’s like pure genius – we laugh with the line instead of at it.

“Miricale Gro” stars two women. One of them is The Buttress. She rocks pony tails. She looks like she might enjoy reading Elizabethan poetry for fun on the weekends but maybe that’s just me.  The other is her friend or a stripper or her friend that is a stripper. Actually you know what I don’t want to call her a stripper. That might be sexist. But in the spirt of a wise man she for sure is wearing a stripper’s uniform. Ok. That feels better. I definitely feel more comfortable saying that. In the video the girls seem to be in the midst of an uber fun nerdy, sexy sleep over – their doing each other’s make up poorly, lifting light weight dumbbells and kicking it with a rabbit in a room that looks like you might live in it if you were a seven-year-old girl living with your arthritic 84-year-old grandmother. But their playful nature is sharply contrasted by their sexual aggressiveness. Which is awesome.

When women rap or touch on sex topics in their work it’s almost always done through the male lens – like we set the standard and then they have to pretend they want the same thing but they don’t. Like in Gone Girl. Actually let’s not talk about Gone Girl because I don’t like talking about horror films. Yikes. But ya hearing a woman rap that a man shouldn’t even call her if he can’t get his junk working properly to sexually please her is oddly refreshing. It’s sexual objectification come full circle and nothing makes me happier than equality.

One thing that I feel compelled to address in pursuit of full disclosure is that after my first initial views I thought that this whole thing was a joke. But after I start to question my own assumptions. I mean the lyrics in the video are on point. The Buttress can rap her ass off. The song is good. From a technical standpoint every things on point, no credit union. Sure there are some silly/absurd aspects of the visual but no more so than anything Tyler, The Creator would put out. And everyone takes him seriously kinda. So why then question the artistic authenticity of the clip? Simple: I think because she’s white.

I learned about the concept of ‘white space’ from a This American Life podcast recently. Elijah Anderson, a renown professor of Sociology at Yale University coined the term. The idea is brilliant:

Since the end of the Civil Rights Movement, large numbers of black people have made their way into settings previously occupied only by whites, though their reception has been mixed. Overwhelmingly white neighborhoods, schools, workplaces, restaurants, and other public spaces remain. Blacks perceive such settings as “the white space,” which they often consider to be informally “off limits” for people like them. Meanwhile, despite the growth of an enormous black middle class, many whites assume that the natural black space is that destitute and fearsome locality so commonly featured in the public media, including popular books, music and videos, and the TV news—the iconic ghetto. White people typically avoid black space, but black people are required to navigate the white space as a condition of their existence.

Nikki Jones, an associate professor at UC Berkley of African American Studies offers insight of the real world impactions of these informal racial realms.

So in these white spaces, black people have a special burden, and they face a number of dilemmas. They have to prove that they belong there. The burden is on them to prove that they belong in a particular space.

Shit works in reverse too. While it’s less common the for white people to enter black spaces, they are still met with a sort of passive hostility questioning their presence. In a nutshell this is why Iggy Azela is hated so vicious. Like “how dare this white girl from Australia come over here and use our music for her own personal gain” type shit. This is wrong. White spaces are wrong. Black spaces are wrong. I know from personal experience what it feels like to feel as if you don’t belong somewhere because of the color of your skin and it’s jarring to think that I’m capable to do that to someone else on any level. Its natural for us to have our own automatic biases but it’s important to realize them and put them in check before they can do any real damage. So I’m starting with the man in the mirror. I consciously choose to judge The Buttress by the quality of her content and not by the novelty of her pigment and you should to.

I really like “Miriacle Gro” – if Lil Kim kidnapped Michelle from Full House back in 94′ and raised her with Biggie and made her listen to nothing but Salt N’ Pepper cassettes and watch nothing but John Hughes’s movies this is the video that said child would be destined to make. I’ve checked out some of The Buttress’s other stuff on YouTube and a lot of it is way darker. Like it kind of reminds me of horror core from like the mid 90s’. “Mirale Gro” is her latest video so perhaps she’s going in a new direction. Not much information on the internets exists about her but with her profile rising as of recent shit might changing real soon.

Hide your fathers.

Download: Behind Every Great Man – The Buttress

Update (6/6/15): Two notes. First and least pressing, in an earlier edition of this post I claimed that most of The Buttress’s musics sans “Miriacle Gro” reminded me of rap-core. This was a mistake. What I meant is that it reminded me of horrorcore. The subgeneres are radically different. Second and far more pressing is as of last Thursday The Buttress has decided to pull the video for “Miracle Gro” from YouTube. You can read the explanation for her decision herehere and here. While I fully respect her decision as an artist, I’m very bummed. The video is/was so damn smart. I’d start an online petition to get her to change her mind but with a Twitter handle like @cockspit I don’t think she’s one to hold public opinion in too high a regard. Fortunately the song alone is still up. Listen to it here while supplies last.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Buttress. | Dollars Make Sense. said, on August 13, 2015 at 4:43 am

    […] Previously: Don’t Be Mad That I Fucked Your Dad […]


Leave a Reply

