Dollars Make Sense.

Beyonce Brought Andre 3000 Out To Party. Then My Mind Exploded.

Posted in music. by Jason Mekkam on June 7, 2011

Party” featuring Andre 3000 by Beyonce (via illRoots)

Andre 3000 is the best rapper living. So may the good Lord up in the skies bless Beyonce’s L’Oreal treated head for somehow convincing Three Stacks to once again shake the cobwebs off his mic. “Party”, a new leak from Mrs. Hova’s upcoming album 4, is a Kanye/Consequence creation that sees it’s 808s, electric keys and overall vibe influenced heavy by New Jack Swing R&B circa 1993 – which is dope to me. Cuz I loved 1993.

Kindergarten was my shit.

Obvi though, what makes “Party” noteworthy is Andre’s appearance. It’s been five years since he’s released an official project, leaving sporadic (and sometimes ultra-random) features as his new material’s sole outlet. But like politicians capable of remaining fully dressed while using social media, even these guest spots are becoming evermore far and few between.

With Andre Benjamin being one of my favorites ever and suffering from severe deprivation of that new new, I can’t help but get white-children-Christmas-morning happy by any sign that the man is still alive musically. Even if it is just a verse. It don’t matter. I’ve become a meek middle-aged married man whose wife hasn’t touched him in ages. Let me just cop a quick feel one time and I swear I’ll die happy.

At no slight to Beyonce, Consequnce or Yeezy, “Party” is great because Andre 3000 is great – he steals the show. His voice on the track compliments the song’s production so efficiently that differentiating between the two could prove too daunting a task for the untrained ear. From a technical perspective, it’s nutty how he’s still so effortlessly able to manipulate syllables into succumbing to his bar’s every bidding: “Always somebody’s song/ I’m the wrong/ Off the rip, cause of him/ all of them/ will remem/ ber the min/ uet that they fell in love with rap/ black like having your cousin back/ blue like when the rent is due/ cream like when I’m loving you.”

But here, as with most of the work by OutKast’s more eccentric half, his greatest genius lies in his lyricism. It’s not that he’s just nice with the wordplay/storytelling; it’s that he rhymes with incredible feeling. He doesn’t waste time on lines that exist solely to ooh and awe – everything he spits has purpose. This gives his raps an unparalleled natural quality. His part on “Party” feels more like he’s talking more than rapping – like he’s simply holding up his end of a very candid, honest conversation.

Typically I try to keep my Stanning to a minimum, but in this case I throw caution to the wind. Hearing new Three Stacks has got my morning made. I can’t front. I really wish dude was still interested in rapping. My only beef is that I’m now reminded once again how seldom the man’s name comes up in “who is rap’s best living” debates. It’s like Jay-Z and Eminem have both corners on lock in most folk’s mind – like Andre 3000 is rap’s Kevin Durant trapped in a Kobe-LeBron world. This is wack to me. But who knows, maybe one day perceptions might change. Maybe all he needs is a vicious marketing campaign.

I’m thinking a dozen puppet commercials should do the trick.

113 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Beyonce Brought Andre 3000 Out to Party; Then My Mind Exploded by WULU […]

  2. Luvjonez said, on June 13, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. Under rated like a mofo. I actually till listen to that mostly wack Rich Boy ” Throw some D’s” remix with him on it cause of his ill verse.

  3. Matt said, on June 24, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    Very cool.

  4. fornormalstepfathers said, on June 24, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Drat it, I am so behind on all these names…
    Great illustrations to the post!

  5. 2ButtonSwag said, on June 24, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I definitely agree. He’s an incredibly underrated lyricist. Everyone just thinks he’s some kind of off balance rapper, but nobody ever really listens to what he’s saying or how he flows. Great stuff. Incredible picture. I love it!

  6. 2ButtonSwag said, on June 24, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Incredible writing by the way. Love the Durant v Kobe&Lebron comparison. Great read.

  7. designthathelps said, on June 24, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    this song feel like a 1990’s throw back and man does it feel good! jw

  8. pondfrogsplash said, on June 24, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Great post. This man is an artist head to toe. There is no one like him, but what if there were? Can you imagine a Three Stacks in Harmony crew?

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      that would beyond epic. they’d have to create a new genre specifically for them.

  9. […] Beyonce Brought Andre 3000 Out To Party. Then My Mind Exploded. (via Dollars Make Sense.) “Party” featuring Andre 3000 by Beyonce (via illRoots) Andre 3000 is the best rapper living. So may the good Lord up in the skies bless Beyonce’s L’Oreal treated head for somehow convincing Three Stacks to once again shake the cobwebs off his mic. “Party”, a new leak from Mrs. Hova’s upcoming album 4, is a Kanye/Consequence creation that sees it’s 808s, electric k … Read More […]

  10. the FRANCHISE said, on June 24, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    A few thoughts:

    1) I, too, love New Jack Swing; Bel Biv Devoe, H-Town, and others were part of my childhood before I was even old enough to understand the lyrics.

    2) Andre 3000 has yet to release a horrible guest verse, largely because he knows how to make the most out of any appearance, whether it’s acting or rapping.

    3) While we could all argue all day about our opinions on who the best rapper alive is (I don’t think it’s 3000, but that’s just me), it’s hard not to include him in the conversation when you consider his consistency, both in hip-hop and R&B.

    Great commentary. You also had me waxing nostalgic for a second there.

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      1) “Poison” is in my top 10 songs of the 90’s hands down.

      2) I couldn’t agree more when it comes to rapping. I haven’t seen enough of his actin tho so i can’t co-sign that part haha.

      3) Basically that all I want – is for him to be included na mean?

      Thanks for your kind words my guy.

  11. greedygirlinlv said, on June 24, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    I’m such a fan of his too! I so wish he would drop an album.

  12. Trey said, on June 25, 2011 at 12:27 am

    the wheel of history

  13. TL said, on June 25, 2011 at 1:17 am

    “Kindergarten was my shit” haha amen to that.

  14. abhi said, on June 25, 2011 at 2:15 am

    thanks for such a wonderful post. I completely stand by your views.

  15. pihu said, on June 25, 2011 at 2:16 am

    great post. Loved reading

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      thank you. i live off of positive energy.

  16. Soul of Sydney said, on June 25, 2011 at 6:23 am

    thats pretty ok you know.. cheers for pushing some real music homey! peace from Sydney..

  17. sleepydogs said, on June 25, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Totally agree! Thanks for posting all the info. I love your writing style, too–hilarious!

  18. iBuy Realty said, on June 25, 2011 at 10:02 am

    I mirror you excitment as I was/am an big time Outkast fan! Why KK on ya zipper? and I was in the mall the other day, I heard a call from the other way, where I just came from, some ni**a was saying something, like I remember you from school…………. Man!!! Those were the days!! Thanks for your post!!

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      True story: I started calling all zippers “ykk”s because of this song. If that’s not influence I don’t know what is.

  19. literatelibran said, on June 25, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Agreed. Best rapper, ever.

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      i couldn’t have said it better myself.

  20. brian schmitz said, on June 25, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Andre,

    That was finer than xacto blades, etched in such artistic ways.

  21. acleansurface said, on June 25, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Not my style of music, but yes, I am digging the smooth syllable manipulation. That takes talent.

  22. Charlie Peace said, on June 25, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Thank you for this! {found you on the WP front page Freshly Pressed!}

  23. liradand said, on June 25, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Outkast in general is underrated. They’ve been the hottest in the game for a long time. (Luvzonez, I still listen to the remix too but I hit “next” after he says “Logout!!!”)

  24. mkeeffer said, on June 25, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Pretty clear – the man is a poet. Glad you got Pressed.

    I continue to be amazed by the quality of the work B does – she just keeps getting better every time I think she’s reached her peak. The work ethic exhibited by she and her husband? Epic.

    Probably still too early in her career, but at some time I’d love her to do a collection of the greats – Bessie Smith, Judy Garland, Billie Holiday, Dinah Washington and Ella Fitzgerald….that quiet, cafe stuff could be heart wrenching.

  25. Brown Sugar Britches said, on June 25, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    always always always loved me some Outkast, but more importantly some Andre 3000. excellent point, well written and beautifully stated. congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! i will subscribe and be a follower– forever more. forever ever? forever ever.

  26. mycybermap said, on June 25, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Very Nice, I see you.

  27. jbashir said, on June 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Andre 3000 is rap’s Kevin Durant trapped in a Kobe-LeBron world. This is wack to me.

    Yes.

  28. Harnew said, on June 25, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    If it wasn’t for this post I would have never knew 3 Stacks recorded a NEW verse; I am not a Beyonce stan.

  29. talklikeasailor said, on June 25, 2011 at 4:41 pm
  30. Ms.Ytaab said, on June 25, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    Love Andre. Hands down.

  31. Anwulika Anigbo said, on June 25, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Word. This is great thanks!

  32. […] FreshlyPressed This entry was posted in Selangor and tagged 3000, Andre, Beyonce, Brought, Exploded., Mind, party. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « Writer blog […]

  33. […] “Party” featuring Andre 3000 by Beyonce (via illRoots) Andre 3000 is the best rapper living. So may the good Lord up in the skies bless Beyonce’s L’Oreal treated head for somehow convincing Three Stacks to once again shake the cobwebs off his mic. “Party”, a new leak from Mrs. Hova’s upcoming album 4, is a Kanye/Consequence creation that sees it’s 808s, electric k … Read More […]

  34. clianthaaward said, on June 25, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I don’t care for this track AT ALL. “Till The End Of Time” is FANTASTIC. That’s a mind-blower. Hell, so is “I Care.”

  35. Sharieka Breeden said, on June 25, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    Feeling the blog post. Interesting perspective. I definitely think that he always manages to deliver a refreshing sound to any track that he delivers a verse one. He has energy while being smooth and is live yet calm, such a dynamic combination for a song with a concept like this.

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      Right tho? It just all fits together so nicely.

  36. iiigreggiii said, on June 25, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Hey, that is excellent writing. Beautifully said. I am impressed enough to want to read more of what you have to say. Respect

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      That means a lot. Positive support means the most. Respect reciprocated.

  37. Queen said, on June 25, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I think you are right! Andre is the best…This song actually makes me feel like Im back in high school…. thanks for the post

  38. Colin said, on June 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Love your rant! He is without a doubt the best, with Big Boi just out of reach. They can’t be seen. If you are as big as a fan as I am of Outkast and 3000, you are very excited anytime you hear that sweet voice of his.

    You know the man is talented when he can put out an album dedicated to children!

  39. gaycarboys said, on June 25, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    You know I didn’t understand a word! LOL I should go away and do some research!

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:29 pm

      haha. it’s all good. i appreciate your effort haha.

  40. black celeb gossip said, on June 25, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    I like his style.

  41. Alli said, on June 25, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Love your tone and style. Nice review! Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:32 pm

      And I love your avatar. Which is crazy cuz I don’t even like squirrels like that..

  42. urbanrockwell said, on June 25, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Nice! hanks for sharing.

  43. sweetrollent said, on June 25, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    “My only beef is that I’m now reminded once again how seldom the man’s name comes up in “who is rap’s best living” debates.”

    Yup- talk a man whos style gets all up in and tickles my brain. Good post.

  44. rawmultimedia said, on June 26, 2011 at 12:45 am

    I absolutely love the photo of choice for your post. Andre 3000 is one of the most amazing artist in hiphop. It’ s cool to see him getting onto great features. I am excited to find other great people who enjoys his music and his techniques. Kudos to you. so awesome.

  45. Irfan Handi said, on June 26, 2011 at 4:11 am

    greetings . . .
    http://kumpulanfilegratis.wordpress.com/

  46. nesha said, on June 26, 2011 at 6:44 am

    Hi! You’re both are right. Andre 3000 is an amazing rapper alive since Biggie, Tupac, and Lil Wayne. Andre is just super talented. I honestly wish that he and big boi would get back together to do an Outkast album.

    Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  47. shenanitim said, on June 26, 2011 at 8:42 am

    I feel bad that I haven’t heard anything from Andre since his piss-poor solo album. Great singles do not an album make. He really needs a foil to rap against. Hopefully he’ll start rapping again now that Janelle Monae has successfully stolen his whole “arty GA artist” swagger.

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      whoa whoa whoa, which piss poor album do you speak of?

  48. Mos Jones said, on June 26, 2011 at 8:57 am

    He is underrated…nice picture and very nice post. Keep up the good work.

  49. anonymouslyspeaking2you said, on June 26, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Great analysis… love it!

  50. Oh Cheers said, on June 26, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Andre 3000 is a legend. Definitely. One of my favouritest choruses in the world has to be Roses:

    I know you’d like to think your shit don’t stank
    But lean a little bit closer
    See that roses really smell like poo-poo-poo

    Ab. So. Lute. Ly. Men. Tal.

    So damn catchy as well!

    I look forward to more of the gentleman’s material.

  51. Magnet for Foolishness said, on June 26, 2011 at 11:17 am

    You had me at the first sentence! I listened to the track (not a fan of Bey) and, of course, the best thing about it was 3000. I miss him. I want another album and I want him RAPPING not singing!

  52. mbromain said, on June 26, 2011 at 11:57 am

    “With Andre Benjamin being one of my favorites ever and suffering from severe deprivation of that new new, I can’t help but get white-children-Christmas-morning happy by any sign that the man is still alive musically. Even if it is just a verse. It don’t matter. I’ve become a meek middle-aged married man whose wife hasn’t touched him in ages. Let me just cop a quick feel one time and I swear I’ll die happy.”

    Love it!

  53. Mariesa said, on June 26, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    I really enjoyed that first paragraph, especially the “may the good Lord up in the skies bless Beyonce’s L’Oreal treated head” line. The whole post’s nice. I like the song, too. Though I cannot say the same for some of B’s other recent released tracks.

  54. Mariesa said, on June 26, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Also, that scratchboard of Andre 3000 is dope! Who’s the artist?

  55. jincard said, on June 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Hey good stuff man. Three Stacks is the best around, in a tight tie with Black Though of The Roots. But like you said, he stole the show, like always.

  56. sonicfictionjourno said, on June 26, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I’m not sure about him being “the best rapper living”. True, he an underestimated and much missed artist. ‘The Love Below’ was one of the best albums of the last decade and OutKast have been away way too long!! I’m not saying he’s a bad rapper, far from it, but not the greatest rapper living. Nice post though I’ll have to keep checking back here!!

    Cheers

    Liam

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 2:02 pm

      Haha I suppose we’ll have to agree to disagree then my friend. But thanks for taking the time to chime in!

  57. […] never really spoke to me on that kind of of level, although it’s good to hear Andre 3 stacks again and I wouldn’t mind hearing something from the Eminem who could still shock and piss everybody […]

  58. Julie said, on June 26, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    I love him too.

  59. ldnphile said, on June 26, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Love that dude. That’s a hot track!

  60. onealacia said, on June 26, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I love 3 Stacks! You are right – he made the song. Thanks for showing the lyrics break up!

  61. Deddy said, on June 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Great article! This is rreally interesting for me as such as taxation in UK 🙂 – http://honka.tk

  62. Alan King said, on June 26, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    “From a technical perspective, it’s nutty how he’s still so effortlessly able to manipulate syllables into succumbing to his bar’s every bidding”

    Another emcee capable of that is Pharoahe Monch. Great post!

    • Soul of Sydney said, on June 27, 2011 at 3:26 am

      caught PM live in sydney a while back.. the man has one wild live show.. propper HIpHOP MC thats for sure….

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      Pharoahe Monch is the truth.

  63. Fletcher Gill said, on June 26, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Great Post. I have to agree, as good as this song is (throwback vibe and Beyonce’s self-induced harmonies included) it would be nothing special without Andre 3000. His lyrics bring some much needed originality and depth to the track. The track is good without Andre, but he makes the song GREAT. You gotta give Kanye a slow clap for keeping his on-mic presence minimal and letting another talented rapper shine a minute. I’m thinkin Mr. West had an Ego-ectomy recently or something.

    *And thank GOD we can visit the late 80’s/early 90’s and without bringing the Jheri Curl back with us? I’m still traumatized by the memory of activator-stained school bus seats.*

    http://steelwoolfanclub.wordpress.com

  64. arifinfo said, on June 26, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    yup. i like the songs by beyonce also 🙂

  65. SBK said, on June 26, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    “He doesn’t waste time on lines that exist solely to ooh and awe – everything he spits has purpose. This gives his raps an unparalleled natural quality.” Pretty much sums up your blog entry. This entry was relevant and intelligent… keep up the good work cuz ur the fukin best!

    • WULU said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      This is the best compliment ever. Like seriously. Thank you.

  66. cand said, on June 26, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    Great Post. I have to agree, as good as this song is (throwback vibe and Beyonce’s self-induced harmonies included) it would be nothing special without Andre 3000. His lyrics bring some much needed originality and depth to the track. The track is good without Andre, but he makes the song GREAT. You gotta give Kanye a slow clap for keeping his on-mic presence minimal and letting another talented rapper shine a minute. I’m thinkin Mr. West had an Ego-ectomy recently or something.

  67. richannkur said, on June 27, 2011 at 12:31 am

    nice

  68. Marie Therese said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:19 am

    loves the song, and the album 4. 🙂

  69. Vinatge-Gypsy said, on June 27, 2011 at 2:59 am

    I loved this. He’ll drop and album when least expected and it’ll rip. simple as. As for the best rapper alive, for me it has got to be KRS1, he emilates everything hip hop is about.

  70. blaqueberri said, on June 27, 2011 at 5:03 am

    love the photo!

  71. ucunlimited said, on June 27, 2011 at 5:07 am

    I have to disagree a little. Although Andre is (to this this day & always will be) one of my top 10 lyricists, I just don’t like this track too much. I want old school Outcast from him. I still listen to Southernplayalistic like it was just released last year and I miss that style. I get it, all musicians evolve, but can he evolve on his own and not follow the trend?

  72. mariettahermosa said, on June 27, 2011 at 5:44 am

    niceeeeee…..:)

  73. teeneefree said, on June 27, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Thanks. That’s a hot track!

  74. TheLadyVirgo said, on June 27, 2011 at 6:44 am

    I can definitely agree on this! I have been fan Andre 3000 fan since his days with OutKast. He’s an amazing lyricist with an astonishing ability to ride a beat falsetto or otherwise… Great post

  75. Khemi said, on June 27, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Hot track ..

  76. Pilar said, on June 27, 2011 at 6:53 am

    “From a technical perspective, it’s nutty how he’s still so effortlessly able to manipulate syllables into succumbing to his bar’s every bidding.” I absolutely agree…it’s undoubtedly a gift. His lyricism though…hands down, one of the best.

    Nice job.

  77. mycity365 said, on June 27, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Very Well Put My Dude. Yes # Stacks is the truth, and he leaves you wanting more like greats homemade sweet potatoe pie. I aint gone lie he been having me humming since his days with Badu.

  78. zaksuhar said, on June 27, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    love it.

  79. I Made You A Mixtape said, on June 28, 2011 at 1:50 am

    I bow in front of greatness. That’s the genius of Andre 3000 and your blog. I am not worthy.

  80. Déjà Vu - The Blog said, on June 28, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Oh,oh,oooooh!

    I LOVE THIS SONG!

    This a classic already .

  81. Mila said, on June 28, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Agreed!!

  82. bluelineswork said, on June 29, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I have to agree underated, who could inject quality lyrical content with a message into songs by Rich Boy, Unk’s “Walk It Out,” a song with Ke$ha and B. Impatiently waiting for his return.

  83. Sen said, on June 30, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Spoken like a true Andre fan. Andre may be one of those people who thinks he is appreciated more when he is less accessible.

  84. Hiit said, on August 31, 2011 at 12:53 am

    Great post,! Thankss

  85. Schnettler said, on September 4, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Wonderful post, I like your impressive blog, found you on FP.

    Please visit my interesting training blog.

  86. Weihnachtsgeschenke said, on November 16, 2011 at 8:03 am

    This post couldn’t be more on the money!

  87. Lola said, on November 30, 2011 at 8:46 am

    *e-swoon*
    This blog made me smile.

    You said exactly how I feel but much less like a giddy-preteen-white-girl-at-a-Bieber-concert or any-chick-at-a-Wale-HBCU-Homecoming-concert.

    (see–> https://lavidalola.wordpress.com/2011/08/05/i-fcks-with-it-friday-rappers-edition/)

    I appreciated it so much 🙂


Leave a Reply

