Dollars Make Sense.

New Music I Like.

Posted in music. by Jason Mekkam on April 26, 2011

Cashmere” by Domo Genesis

Domo Says: “Swag me out bitch, in a $8,000 outfit/Ya I hear these other niggas talkin’ ain’t about shit/I’m on 15, these niggas on cloud six”

WULU Says: Weed raps/rappers largely fall on a spectrum. From the “I’m gonna smoke and drink more champagne and fuck your bitch” rhymes of Wiz Khalifa, to the “I’m gonna smoke and count all my sneakers and play Xbox” lyricism of Curren$y, to the “I’m gonna smoke and cry and cut myself” ramblings of Kid Cudi, the inhabitants of this niche sub-genere each bring their own new strand to the table. Odd Future’s presiding pothead is no exception. Oozing with nonchalant bravado and sneaky wit, “Cashmere” sees Domo’s drawl flow juxtaposed against hypnotic keys and sinister snares instead of his more familiar heavy bass bumps and deep spacey synths. But the overall effect is still the same.. Shit slaps.

4AM” featuring Black Cobain by Wale

Wale Says: “Dark side of town, baby mama blues/ When drama ensues niggas Ndomakong Suh/ Old lyin’ ass defensive ass boys/Why you knock that bitch up if you can’t tend it out boy?”

WULU Says: Wale is so good at those sports wordplay/simile/metaphor-type things he does.

Last week I was caught in an argument between the homie LaGreezy and the homie JJ over the Wale’s rap’s worth (JJ thought dude was the nicest, LaGreezy wouldn’t piss on Wale’s raps to put them out). My opinion rests in the middle. For the record I like Wale. I have for a while. After I heard A Mixtape About Nothin back when, I was sure dude was up next. Be he wasn’t. Because he’s the Portland Trail Blazers of hip-hop. The potential is there. The talent’s apparent. I wanna believe they/he has what it takes to go all the way. But deep down.. I know.. They/he won’t. Because.. A mental miscalculation here. An egregious misstep there. A lack of heart down the stretch. A loss of identity.. Failure. One can only take so much loosing before it becomes unsettling. And that’s my problem with Wale. He’s kind of a perennial loser.

Making matters worse is that he has the ego of a made man but the ego of a king but the resume of a goat milker. His mess of an album tanked. His last mixtape was lukewarm. For a minute a was ready to throw in the towel. Totally give up on him. But I can’t front. “4AM” had me crossing fingers when it leaked a couple weeks back. I’m excited. Not full on erection status (no Jon Ameche) but a lil chubby is forming. Who knows. Perhaps Wale leaving Roc Nation for Rozay’s Maybach Music Group has given him a renewed interest in rapping actually. Push come to shove, I still want the man to win. So for the time being at least, I hope.

Go Out On The Town” featuring Young Jeezy by Killer Mike

Jeezy Says: “None of my niggas ain’t got no deal/None of my niggas ain’t got no job/All my niggas got two or three cars”

WULU Says: 0 deals + 0 jobs = 2 or 3 cars???? What kind of fucking math is that?

(A)gain by Def Sound

Def Sound Says: “I think I found her, or is she finding me?/Or isn’t that what you always think?/The girl of my dreams but i dont ever sleep/Love aint a trick so why they say fall 4 me?”

WULU Says: 1.) Peep the flat-top game tho. Respect.

2.) With the love analysis, why is the song so on point tho? Especially in the second verse when Def Sounds raps about the best part of a relationship is the first part. And how after a while it sucks. Then it ends. Then we get sad. Then we meet someone else. Then we do it all over again. That’s crazy is it not? Trying the same thing.. Again and again.. But expecting a new result each time? Crazy.

3.) Why is all the good new music coming outta California (Def Sounds comes outta L.A.)? Humans are funny. As soon as one person finds and opening, everybody and they mothers is trying to plow through the rabbit hole.. I guess what works for Middle Easterners and democratic revolution after homie set himself on fire in Tunisia can also work for Golden State Rappers and their raps after this dark, skinny kid with big ears hung himself.

“Pain” by Fabulous (from The Soul Tape)

Fabulous Says: “I’m old enough to know better, young enough to not give a fuck/Rather hold my head high and die than live and duck/If you cool wit being taking down or giving, your lifestyle’s a blowjob – your way of living sucks”

WULU Says: ^^^ Message.

Fabulous dropped The Soul Tape last week and its very good. Like damn good. Really. Low key, it’s always irked me how criminally underrated the the man is. He’s frightfully witty. As far as “Pain” goes, I love how incredibly introspective the track is. The whole tape even. Hella honest. I mean I like “Can’t Deny” Fabulous and “Into You” Fabulous enough, but I really think Fabulous is at his best when he’s just being Fabulous. No packaging.

Too Juiced Up by Soulja Boy (from Juice)

Soulja Says: “If you lookin for me dog, I’m on the block too juiced up”

WULU Says: I got so excited when I heard this. For a mintue I thought he said “I’m on the blog too juiced up.” In my head I was all like “YO SHIT HOMIE, ME TOO”. I started thinking about how somewhere in the world Soulja Boy too was hyped up on Red Bull, reading bullshit on Gawker. How we were so similar. Him and I. Like the same person. But then I realized he actually said block. Disappointment set in.

Anyways this song is cool. I offically fux with Soulja Boy. It’s true. Like Kel, I do, I do, I do, I do, I do, I do-ooo too. To some this may seem shocking. So here’s something else that’s shocking: Kangaroos can not walk backwards.

Life doesn’t make sense.

Awesome featuring Pusha T by XV (from Zero Heroes)

XV Says:“And even through the hatin and walls they thought I’d stay in/Psssh who you playing I done went Super Saiyan”

WULU Says: I love this track for the Dragonball Z reference alone. Shit brings me back.. Back when I was just a lil lowercased wulu, I used to run up to girl at recess and scream “Kamehameha” in they faces…

I never really had a girlfriend until I was 17.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LaGreezy said, on April 26, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Dear WULU,

    Thank you for articulating everything about Wale my high ass couldn’t the other night.

    Sincerely,

    LaGreezy

  2. Deez said, on April 26, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    yesss feelin you on what you were saying about fab, so underrated.
    and about the dragon ball z reference
    and… about soulja boy… shhh dont tell anyone…
    ps. I love Wale and I hate Kid Cudi

  3. Omari said, on April 26, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Glad I could grace the cover of this post. Thank you.

  4. Rap Round Table, Week Ending 4/29/2011 said, on April 30, 2011 at 4:38 am

    […] New Music I Like by WULU […]

  5. Kicknowledge said, on May 14, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Word on the Dragonball Z stuff man, Donald Glover had that in one of his bars and I was taken so far back, that 2000 was the year and Cartoon Network had supplanted Nickleodeon as the channel to watch.

    I too agree with the Wale analysis. For me, “Back to the Feature” and “More About Nothing” (“Mixtape About Nothing is cool, but I feel it pales in comparison to these two) are the epitome of what this guy can become if he just goes all out (another apt sports related reference including Wale). Some of the new stuff I have heard though has made me sour on him making that leap to be a perennial member of the All-Hip Hop team, some of the stuff just seems beneath him. Like “100hunnit” with Meek Mill is just him dumbing his stuff down, I actually would say that since he joined MM Music he has kinda fallen off…


Leave a Reply

