Dollars Make Sense.

Best In Beats: The Year’s Five Best Posse Cuts.

Posted in reviews. by Jason Mekkam on December 22, 2010

pos·se cut [ˈpä-sē ˈkət]

– noun: popular form of song in hip hop music that involves successive verses by four or more rappers

Rap is a contact sport. It’s birth outta late 70s MC battles made it that way. As a fan of the genre, arguing why rapper X is better than rapper Y is half the fun. With rap transformation into big business bringing about the death of the beloved pastime however, the one remaining medium in which to judge rappers in context is the posse cut.

Personally I love em’. When done right they excite. With Yeezy’s star-studded G.O.O.D. Friday drops and BET’s cyphers doing their part to increase the awareness of group lyricism, we at the Dollar’s Make Sense figure it fitting to do our part as well by taking a look at the best five posse cuts of the past year.

In order to be considered, songs had to fall under the following criteia:

1) Has to feature at least four rappers
2) It has to be an original track (no remixes)

and..

3) It can in no way, shape or form feature DJ Khaled.

Because he’s an asshole.

As an added bonus we’ll also declare the best line as well was the overall winner.

five. Christian Dior Denim Dlow featuring Kid Cudi, Pusha T, John Legend, Lloyd Banks & Ryan Leslie – Kanye West [Roca-A-Fella]

Best Line: “I’m in the car with Leo and the Benz swerve/ I heard Bar was friends with Esti Ginzburg/ Coco Rocha, Kate Mimosa/ Alessandra Ambrosio, Anja Rubik/ Get Olga Kurylenko, tell her I’m very single”

Best Verse: Yeezy.

WULU Says: I can’t even pronounce half these names in real life so props to Kanye for including these model chicks in his raps.

four. All Flowers featuring Superb – Raekwon, Method Man, Ghostface Killah & Inspectah Deck

Best Line: “Dance floor packed with whites, blacks and latins/All N Together, together for worship better/Now I put it down whether its Methy, Method, or Meth-Tical”

Winning Verse: M.E.T.H.O.D. MAN

WULU Says: WUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU-tang FTW!

three. Don’t Forget The Swishers featuring Dom Kennedy, Chip Tha Ripper & cARTer – Pac Div

Best Line: “I smoke with bad chicks with fake tits keep that on the DL/ All hugged up on me, bitch you ain’t my female.” – Dom

Winning Verse: Dom.

WULU Says: My anthem last summer bummed twice a day at minimum.

two. Oil Money featuring Chuck English, Chip Tha Ripper, Bun B & Dan Auerbach – Freddie Gibbs

Best Line: “Who knew this rapping shit would pay off?/I’m fired up to kill like I got fired on my day off” – Freddie Gibbs

Winning Verse: Gibbs

WULU Says: I wish a motha lova would fire me on my day off.. Really though, the kinda hell I’d raise..

Special props to Dan Auerbach’s (from the Black Keys) hook on this. It fits perfect.

one. Monster featuring Rick Ross, Jay-Z, Nicki Minaj, Bon Iver – Kanye West [Roc-a-fella]

Best Line: “Have you ever had sex with a Pharaoh?/I put the pussy in a sarcophagus.” – Yeezy

Winning Verse: Ms. Minaj by a mile.

WULU Says: Jay-Z is great. We all know this. Having said that, how come people let him get away with getting bodied on tracks? It’s like he doesn’t even try but no one calls him out on it.

Anyways Monster here is the easy winner, Minaj’s energy carries the track for mega miles. Double thumbs pointed skyward for sure.

Tagged with:

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ryan said, on December 24, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    All good chocies sub monster for The joy by Kanye. Jay didn’t get bodied on that

  2. JJ said, on December 27, 2010 at 7:15 am

    Does the G.O.O.D. music BET cypher not qualify? Because that should be #1 if it does…

    And you’re telling me that Nicki Minaj has the BEST verse in the BEST posse cut of the year? That’s OD like Len Bias experimenting with some white girls.

    I didn’t know this was considered good lyricism: “Pull up in the monster// Automobile gangster// With a bad b-tch that came from Sri Lanka// Yeah I’m in that Tonka, color of Willy Wonka…..Yeah my money’s so tall that my barbie’s gotta climb it// Hotter than a middle eastern climate// Find it 20 mataran dutty whine it// While it, nicki on a pit while I sign it”

    VERY basic lyrics by a VERY non-basic bitch. Energy is the only thing Nicki Minaj brought to this track IMO.

    Yo, I’ll admit, my haterid for Nicki Minaj runs deep. So, maybe my opinion is biased. Yay? nay? Regardless, she sucks.

    By no means am I hating, I’m just trying to spark some debate amongst the people who have read this entry. So, what y’all think?

  3. JJ said, on December 27, 2010 at 7:43 am

    I’m sorry yall, I just think that Nicki Minaj’s voice is getting more credit than her lyrics are. I’d also rather not acknowledge the fact that the best verse in the best posse cut of 2010 is Nicki Minaj rapping about her hairdo. I got better shit to listen to.

    Jay-z has the smoothest flow and Ye had the best lyrical content.

    Oh yea, I almost forgot to mention, Minaj is a biter…she stole Lil Kim’s entire image.

    Ok ok, I’m done roasting ol’ girl. If I had to think of three reasons why Nicki Minaj sucks, someone would need to shoot me a prayer or two — I’d be here all got damn day. It’s 5:39 am in Hawaii. I’m finna sleep, wake up, drink a chorona on the beach and continue to keep it 1hunnit.

    Uno.

  4. Rap Round Table, Weeks Ending 12/31/2010 said, on December 31, 2010 at 5:41 am

    […] Best In Beats: The Year’s Five Best Posse Cuts by WULU […]

  5. Young Wild Man said, on January 2, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Damn JJ went hard. Pause. I would have chosen a few
    different tracks. Jim Jones-Living Like Gangster should be up
    there.

  6. Anon said, on January 4, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Isn’t that cARTer with the “female” line? Cos Dom’s verse ends right before that line.

    V1-Dom, then cARTer
    V2-Pac Div Dude 1 then Chip
    V3-Pac Div Dude 2, Pac Div Dude 3

  7. Kicknowledge said, on January 11, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    I was feeling the G.O.O.D. cypher too JJ. And I haven’t as much time analyzing the lyrics of Monster as JJ (or WULU for that matter), but I’m inclined to add that her charisma carried that verse more than anything. It had me hyped no doubt, but I went into her verse expecting little because the only time I had heard her was ‘Bedrock’ and well, that was childish enough to score J.R. Smith music video love (clown, but he can shoot though).

    The Joy was also pretty good, most of those G.O.O.D. Friday outputs were good. I wish there were some leniency in the remix department though because I felt “Fat Raps” remix off of “FF3” was good and also the “We Beamin” by All City Chess Club deserved some kind of merit. I don’t make the criteria, I just voice the opinion; solid work again.


Leave a Reply

