Dollars Make Sense.

Best In Beats: 2010’s Eleven Dopest Hip-Hop Videos.

Posted in reviews. by Jason Mekkam on December 21, 2010

With the year just about done, it’s with great pride that I introduce Best In Beats, a cute little series showcasing the highlights the last 365 days in hip-hop had to offer.

In this edition, we take a look at the year’s best rap visuals. Unlike the majority of today’s hip-hop music videos showcasing the finest in rented cars/jewelry/women, these eleven picks don’t suck pickles.

For clarity’s sake, while the music itself is taking into consideration, the primary criteria for being included in this list first and foremost is based upon a video’s aesthetics, storytelling, creativity, and originality – as it should be. So no bullshittin (like in 2003 when Eminem was nominated for Video Of The Year at the MTV Movies Awards for his very basic Lose Yourself over the White Stripe’s far superior Seven Nation Army. I mean really, not to way off topic, but that pissed off me off like a ketchup stain on a crisp new Kirkland white tee. MTV stays on Eminem’s nuts super vicious and to be honest it’s always made me quite uncomfortable).

Anyways with that said, let the inane placing of other people’s creative hard work into a numerical hierarchy commence!

eleven. Go Kill – L.E.P. Bogus Boys [Directed by Creative Control]

Working with artists such as Mos Def, The Cool Kids, Dom Kennedy, and Curren$y Creative Control stays impressing with their crisp yet low profile productions. Go Kill here is no exception.

Not to get all politicals, but notice how L.E.P. only dawn masks of Republican politicians as they commit the heist.

MESSAGE???

I insinuate, you decide.

ten. So Good – Reflection Eternal [Directed by Court Dunn]

Here’s proof once again that sometimes the most brilliant ideas are the simplest.

Also laugh out loud at Talib’s adlib at the 0:50 mark:

“I feel so good.. like when you finish working out.. or when your girl cum before you do.”

I must have watched this video a dozen times but I’m just now catching that line for the first time.

lulz.

nine. Riot Song – Johnny Polygon [Directed by The Graphic Foundation & Philip Spartel]

Johnny Polygon is probably one of the dopest MCs out right now that you’ve never heard of. Shame too because his Rebel Without Applause mixtape was very dope. Channeling a De La Soul practicality mixed with a PM Dawn mentality, Polygon raps (and occasionally croons) for no other reason than to rap. He’s backpacker honest enough to admit he’s too broke to afford a backpack. I can relate.

If you’re wondering why the paper-cutout concept in this video looks so familiar, it’s because it’s was more famously employed in B.O.B.’s Nothing On You. Here’s why Polygon get’s the win over Bobby tho:

1) Polygon’s video is cleaner (simply just way better executed).
2) Polygon’s video has a better story (broke/average bloke getting the bomb girl always gives me inspiration)
3) Polygon’s song is much better.

and..

4) I low key hate B.O.B.

eight. Slow Down featuring Heather Victoria – David Banner & 9th Wonder (Directed by David Banner & Illusive Media]

This video is banana nuts. To be honest I’m not sure I fully understand it, but I love watching it. It makes me feel like I’m on ecstasy. I’ve never tried ecstasy, but if I did try ecstasy I imagine that this video is what being on ecstasy would look like.

seven. I’m Beaming – Lupe Fiasco [Directed by IllusiveMedia]

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Lupe loves the kids!

six. S.T.A.L.L.E.Y featuring Stalley- Ski Beatz [Directed by Creative Control]

Another Creative Control video. I love it because it combines two of my greatest loves: lip dubs and fake beards.

Hooray!

five. Say Wassup – Rhymefest & Phonte [Directed by Konee Rok]

I don’t like 3D, but Say Wassup gets a major pass in my book partly for very wittingly incorporating every cartoon ever made into the video.

four. I Need A Dollar – Aloe Blacc [Directed by Kahlil Joseph]

Very poignant and cinematic. Like Funnie, I Doug it.

three. Fuck You – Cee Lo Green

Craziest part of the video in my opinion is at 0:26 when lil’ Cee Lo Green says fuck you right in front of his mother and gets off with a small slap on the cheek. Ya. Fucking. Right. I don’t know about y’all but my momma would have beat my ass like I stole something, right there in front of the packed dinner, no mercy. Not that it was much of a deterrent because at the end of the day all I wanted to do was hoodrat stuff with my friends.

two. Who Dat? – J. Cole [Directed by BB Gun]

Vodpod videos no longer available.

The illest one shot video I’ve seen in a very long time. Too I heard they were able to pull all this off after just two takes. Major props to BB Gun on this one.

one. Shutterbug – Big Boi [Directed by Chris Robinson]

Big Boi wins big.

For those of you wondering why, peep the running tally: the video has a puppet band, dancers in matching neon suits, Keri Hilson’s fine ass, a sneaker mountain, a Cutlass with a neon lighted exterior, Keri’s Hilson’s fine ass, kegs galore, decapitation, a Dungeon Family cameo and Keri Hilson’s fine ass.

Honestly, dude had me at Keri Hilson’s fine ass..

Update: A reader has been kind enough to inform me that that’s indeed not Ms. Hilson but an impostor. Alas! Oh well tho. Beggars can’t be choosers. I’d. Still. Holler.

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. DIGGSY!!! said, on December 23, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    i hate to break it 2 ya bruh. that aint even keri hilson. her name is Frenchy. info from snortthis.com

  2. Rap Round Table, Weeks Ending 12/31/2010 said, on December 31, 2010 at 5:41 am

    […] Best In Beats: 2010′s Eleven Dopest Hip-Hop Videos by WULU Top 50 Songs of 2010 by David Reyneke […]

  3. Ivan said, on December 31, 2010 at 7:02 am

    ill list

  4. 12.23 The Cooler | New Music Trends said, on September 20, 2011 at 4:05 am

    […] 2010′s 11 Dopest Hip-Hop Videos [Dollars Make Sense] […]


Leave a Reply

