Dollars Make Sense.

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Pet Peeve About Ye’s Album.

Posted in truth. by Jason Mekkam on October 31, 2010

Kanye’s been on one as of late. I mean really, with the tweets, the half-hour film/music video, this silly ass album cover, and the generous G.O.O.D. Friday drops, Ye’s steady been on a promotional blitzkrieg of epic promotions.

All of it though in my opinion is very not necessary. Dude is the most creative person in hip-hop right now. I don’t care if he went on stage during the VMA’s and gave Taylor Swift a dirty sanchez. No force on the planet would prevent me from illegally downloading copping his latest album. So for the record my anticipation was on super high. That is until I saw the tracklist last week..

It’s as follows:

1. Dark Fantasy
2. Gorgeous (feat. Kid Cudi & Raekwon)
4. All of the Lights
5. Monster (feat. Jay-Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj & Bon Iver)
6. So Appalled (feat. Jay-Z, Pusha T, CyHi Da Prynce, Swizz Beatz & RZA)
7. Devil In a New Dress
8. Runaway (feat. Pusha T)
9. Hell of a Life
10. Blame Game (feat. John Legend & Pusha T)
11. Lost In the World
12. See Me Now (bonus)

Here’s what’s not cool wit me: Upon looking the tracklist once over, I realized that three have been G.O.O.D. Friday drops, two have already been released as singles, and at least three others were featured in Kanye’s movie. I ain’t gotta be no mathematics expert to know that that’s well over half the album that I’ve already heard.

This makes me unhappy. It’s like what am I even waiting for? I feel too this is a trend with almost every new album that’s come out recently. We live in such an internet culture of instant gratification and short attention spans that artists feel the gotta keep serving up samples to keep the masses hungry.

But at the same time it really does make it harder to appreciate an album as a whole when you’ve already grown tired of half the songs on it before you even listen to the whole thing.

Something has got to give..


3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rap Round Table, Week Ending 11/5/2010 said, on November 6, 2010 at 3:45 am

    […] My Dark Twisted Pet Peeve About Ye’s Album by WULU […]

  2. Ryan said, on November 8, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Ummm Kanye put the OFFICIAL Tracklist online not to long ago…with 13 Tracks and 5 bonus tracks….and seeing how he has 10+ G.O.O.D. Friday Tracks…add those all to ur ipod…I’d say thats a pretty good album….

  3. Donald said, on November 9, 2010 at 6:52 am

    the thing is, Ryan, Monster, So Appalled & Devil In A New Dress are G.O.o.D. Friday tracks, that 13 track is who will Survive in america that Gil -Scott Heron spoken word track, and see me now is out there too. I know Ye will flip and extend some tracks but why the wait for like 5 tracks. I’m waiting though.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s