Dollars Make Sense.

Addiction.

Posted in smh. by Jason Mekkam on August 11, 2010
“Why everything that’s supposed to be bad make me feel so good?”

Eminem may be killing on his recovery, but I’m tripping off my own relapse.

Many folks suffer from addictions..

To money..

To girls..

To weed..

Now while I’ve been afflicted..

By not one..

Not two..

But all three, them vices ain’t got shit on my ultimate unhealthy obsession – fly ass footwears!

I don’t know what it is.. Maybe it’s genetics. Or maybe it’s the result of severe psychological trauma caused by my moms opting to purchase me those $3.73 K-Mart Kickers in lieu of a pair of fresh ass Jordans way back when I was just a lil lowercased wulu (And I’m not even playing – that shit mentally scars. I still break out in hives every time I drive by a Pay-Less). But for whatever reason, there’s just something about new/fresh/dope synthetic leathers, cotton laces, rubber outsoles and cardboard boxes that gets me wet.

I mean drenched.

So I’ll admit – my name is WULU and I love shoes. It’s true. I do, I do, I do-ooo.

And I’ve been know to buy a couple pairs…

Weekly.

No biggie. Very basic. All essential I promise.

Okay. Well not really. Things got out of hand for a bit. Like ’77 and counting’ out of hand. But I gained control. With the help of loved ones, I was able to emancipate myself from the mental slavery the pursuit of nice kicks had bound me to. Since June I’ve been clean. No new pickups. Hooray for me right?

I promised that I’d no longer buy shoes to stunt – I’d only cop kicks for running and athletics and whatnot.

And I’d been doing a good job. Scouts honor. But like your local crackfiend or Bruce Willis will tell you, some habits die hard with a vengeance.

When rumor spread that the Blue Air Max 1’s and Inferred Air Max 90’s (both original color-ways mind you) would drop within a week of each other in August I thought “Who fuggin cares? Mindless consumerism – I’m off that. No more buying things I don’t need. No way in hell I’m copping those shoes. I’m better than that.”

And then they released.

With almost no hesitation and one quick swipe of my Visa Bank of America Debit card..

Purchased.

Just look how cute they are all lined up on my rug!

*Shurg*

Hey I tried to stop man, I tried the best I could but..

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. apparently im Darrnell said, on August 11, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    haaaa this shit funny. Sad thing is when I moved to oregon I was one of those dudes that only had a 2 pair rotation. Thanks to the peer pressure and sight of the constant freshness of my 2 sneakerhead roomates I had to step my game up. After buying some I never stopped, now I am addicted. heavily…. Thanks WULU


Leave a Reply

