Dollars Make Sense.

Reading Rainbow.

Posted in truth. by Jason Mekkam on June 21, 2010

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Reading Rainbow FTW!

Back in the day, when I was just a lil lowercased wulu, this show was my shit.

Cuz the host was black. And I liked rainbows.

Just joshing.

But on that serious, I used to be a literary fiend when I was a youngin. Couldn’t keep my lil big head me out of a book. My favorite was Goosebumps. But I inhaled pretty much all sorts of books. Straight up devoured them shits. Like burgers. And I fucking love burgers. I can eats like four in one sitting. No joshing this time. Ask those who know me. They’ve witnessed.

Anywho, I bring all this up because lately I’ve come to a pretty sad conclusion: as I’ve gotten older I’ve simultaneously gotten dumber. I’m sure of it. No joshing (for that hat trick – Sidney Crosby!). At times I feel that I was more capable of intellectual feats in high school than I am now. So after doing some pondering towards determining the cause of my mental retardation (Sherlock Holmes status) I’ve come to the conclusion that the key factor is that I no longer read. Ever. Not for fun. Not for school. Never. As a result my mental has suffered. My creativity stifled. My wit impeded.

So at the advice of a friend I’m determined to do something to change all that. Reading is dorky, but necessary for smarts I’ve decided. And smarts is a necessity for life. That is unless you’re down with working at McDonalds till Medicare kicks in. But hey I ain’t knocking. Again me = burger fiend. I snort Big Macs. And I don’t judge. So do you.

Trying to stay focused tho, without any further ado, I present to you my 2010 Summer Reading List!

Am I a fucking tight or what?

I figure summer is a better time than any to catch up on the books. I decided to aim high for the sky and I want to finish at least 25 before fall creeps up. I’ve already got two down. Ya me!

Anyways here it goes:

1.) The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich
2.) Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
3.) The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama
4.) Lord of The Flies by William Golding
5.) Freakonomics by Steven Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner
6.) SuperFreakonomics by Steven Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner
7.) A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn
8.) 1984 by George Orwell
9.) Game Change by John Heilemann & Mark Halperin
10.) The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Malcolm X
11.) Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell
12.) Predictably Irrational by Dan Ariely
13.) The Count Of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
14.) God Is Not One by Stephen Prothero
15.) It’s Bigger Than Hip-Hopp by M.K. Asante Jr
16.) A River Runs Through It by Norman Maclean
17.) Shit My Dad Says by Justin Halpern
18.) Intellectuals by Paul M. Johnson
19.) Can’t Stop Won’t Stop by Jeff Chang
20.) 48 Laws Of Power by Robert Greene & Joost Elffers
21.) Book Of Basketball by Bill Simmons
22.) The Upside Of Irrationality by Dan Ariely
23.) Catch – 22 by Joseph Heller
24.) When You Are Engulfed In Flames by David Sedaris
25.) Animal Farm by George Orwell

I know. Kind of an ambitious list right? But we goes hard over here.

So what do you think?

Any suggestions? And do you think I can do it? Have you read any of these books? If so did you like em? And are you trying to get together sometime to watch some Reading Rainbow and sip hot coco with marshmallows in it?

Lemme know..

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Crazy Chris Cramer said, on June 21, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    you should try reading, twilight.

  2. Genevieve said, on June 21, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Read Things Fall Apart in high school..don’t really remember what I thought of it, but I read A People’s History of the United States-very good, and a fairly quick read.

    • WULU said, on June 23, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      yeee.

      ya i heard good things about it too, so hopefully everyone wasn’t joshin..

  3. erica west said, on June 21, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I heard that “Shit My Dad Says” is a fantastic read.
    Great, ambitious list. I wish you well.

  4. kariann said, on June 22, 2010 at 10:56 am

    1. You’ve for a great list up there. Tell me what you think of your number three.

    2. You should read Tuesdays withMorrie.

    3. I’m a witness to this inhalation of burgers. It’s true.

    • WULU said, on June 23, 2010 at 6:21 pm

      I’m a witness to this inhalation of burgers. It’s true.

      ^^^

      see. a witness. told yall.

  5. JPD3 said, on June 23, 2010 at 2:03 am

    im reading that barack – the audacity of hope book right now.. lemme know what u think when u finish.. i got nothin else to do but sit on my gimp ass and read, maybe ill start a summer reading list!!

    • WULU said, on June 23, 2010 at 6:22 pm

      do it son!

      the ladies love lists.

  6. Mark Jacobs said, on June 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Ditto @ “Tuesdays With Morrie”. If you’re looking for somethin’ that’ll shake up your perspective read “Everyman” by Philip Roth, it kinda makes you appreciate life, and if you have any elderly folk in your life you’ll want to hug em’ when you’re done reading “Everyman”. There’s also this book, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime” written by a one Mark Haddon. The author is an autistic man who teaches creative writing. It’ll make you laugh and it’s mighty easy to read because the guy who wrote it autistic. lol
    I can go forever. Good Luck

  7. Omari said, on June 24, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Im reading the book “the history of white people” Ive enjoyed what ive read so far.

  8. Omari said, on June 26, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    You should read russell simmons’ “Life and Def” I enjoyed it. I still got it if you trying to peep game.


Leave a Reply

