Dollars Make Sense.

An Open Letter To Kid Cudi.

Posted in reviews. by Jason Mekkam on May 31, 2010

Dear Scott Ramon Seguro Mescudi,

(Yes. Goverment name. It’s that serious)

To rephrase a question a wise man once asked:

Cudi do I look like a bitch?

I’ve concluded you must think so. Because that’s the only logical explanation for why you tried to fuck me like one last weekend.

Scene: May 27. Eugene, Oregon. Cuthbert Amphitheater. 9:13 PM.

On average the Town of Tracks receives about eleven days of rain in the month of May. This made buying a ticket to see you a gamble from the jump. Yet unfazed by this I was as I boldly purchased my document granting admission to your outdoor performance. ‘To hell with it’ I figured. This is college. As countless instances of waiting till the last possible minute to start an eight page paper worth a quarter of my final grade or draining my bank account for a pair of $200 Nike SB Dunks a week before rent’s due illustrate, the taking of unnecessary risks has always been the defining characteristic of my collegiate career. Who was I to stop then?

Anyways Mother Nature must be a G.O.O.D. Music lover because she was lookin real good on Saturday. Sixty-six degrees, sunny, and not a cloud in the sky. Nice weather. Not to mention the Cuthbert itself had all the necessary ingredients a dope ass show requires.

Sold out show/at capacity crowd?

Check.

Alcohol being served at the gate accompanied by the harmonious transferals of blunts from one audience member to the next?

Check.

Hella bitches in attendance? (As the kids say of course). And decent opening acts?

Check and check.

Given all this, Mr. Solo Dolo I ask you: WTF happened? Please. Tell. Me. I really want to know. Because I can honestly say that was hands down one of the worst performances I’d ever seen.

You brought zero energy. No stage presence. Blue Scholars went twice as hard as you did. The homies and I watched in disbelief as you casually walked back and forth during your routine, making faux attempts to engage the crowd with the ever so standard “make some noise (insert city here)” bit. Even worse was that you opted to stand in one place as you croaked into the mic while shortened renditions of your hit songs blasted through the speakers. You did this for pretty much the whole show. The only highlight, if you really wanna call it that, was a preview of Revolution off your new album. But even that couldn’t save you from the overall tiredness that was your set. Adding insult to injury, you were only on stage for no longer than 45 min. I mean for real man? Yo honestly, if a boombox had been placed in the middle of the stage and you just never even showed up, I doubt anyone would have been able to tell the difference. Real talk brah.

Here’s why I’m really pissed:

1) Bro I paid $40 to see you. If you’re gonna charge top dollar, I expect a top dollar show. Common courtesy. Don’t serve me hamburger helper when I paid for filet mignon. I eats. Ask my momma. I can tell the difference. Easy.

2) Recently, I’ve been noticing a disturbing trend among rappers when they come to Eugene. I have this theory that, taking into account Eugene’s demographics/rep for being super college town and super caucasian, artists think they can quickly roll thru, put on a BS show, leave a lyrically-uneducated crowd feeling as if they got their money’s worth, and just dip off with mad loot. I don’t dig it. Just because you can steal candy from a baby doesn’t mean you should. That makes you look like a jackass sir. When I sense that you wouldn’t have dared thrown the same show you did last weekend in a bigger market like NY, my anger is only heightened.

3 and most importantly) I am actually a big fan of yours. You might find this hard to believe, but it’s true. I was up on Day N’ Nite nearly two years before it hit the radio. I have every mixtape you’ve ever put out. Hell, when Man on the Moon sold 100k its first week, I recall wholeheartedly cheering your success. It’s because I’m a fan that I’m pissed off the most. Well aware of the pitfalls many rappers face when they perform, I still had high hopes for you, especially after witnessing such obstacles so successfully overcome just two weeks ago by the homie Wiz. It’s because I admire your talent and originality that I’m not merely disappointed by your lack of effort Saturday, I’m insulted. How am I now not supposed to feel foolish for anticipating your next tape or defending you to your harshest critics? As Andre 3000 says, “You’re only as funky as your last cut.” And right now my dude you left the room immediately after stinking it up something vicious. Doorknob times a hundred. Now that stench is all I have to remember you by.

Basically what it comes down to is that as a fan, I implore you from the bottom of my heart, to pretty please step your game up. For your sake and mine. I know you can do better.

Either come correct or don’t come at all.

Simple as that for your simple ass.

Best Wishes,

WULU

P.S. When is ‘How To Make It In America’ comin back for season two? Yo that show is fire!

I need a dolla for sure..

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kid Cudi said, on June 1, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Dude,

    I dont care if you didnt like my show. I still got paid. Thanks for the $40 bro!

    Cudi

  2. WULU said, on June 2, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I dont care if you didnt like my show. I still got paid. Thanks for the $40 bro!

    ^^^

    class act.

  3. pence said, on June 3, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Heard his show at Squatch was good, you must have to pay 300 bucks for a half decent show.

  4. ScottyB said, on June 4, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    He was probably depressed that he was even in Eugene, Oregon.

    Performed in Gainesville, FL (before Common came on) in the rain and it was live.

  5. Forcefed said, on June 5, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    I don’t know why people think mostly studio produced music is going to be good live.

    I also didn’t know that being Caucasian makes one musically uneducated. That’s not racist at all…

    • WULU said, on June 5, 2010 at 3:56 pm

      wow.

      chill b.

      and while you’re at it go back and reread that paragraph.

      i in no way shape or form attempted to imply that white folk don’t know hip-hop.

      such a statement would be blatantly offensive and egregiously ignorant.

      duh.

      in fact, if anything, i attempted to highlight the nonsensicality of the very misconception you accuse me of making.

      instead, what i was getting at is given eugene’s a small, predominately white town that doesn’t attract many hip-hop acts, some rappers may falsely assume that they can throw a half-assed show and the crowd won’t know any better given their presumably small frame of reference.

      again, i reiterate, such an assumption is poop.

      obvi.

      so be careful when you’re throwin out that racist card my guy cuz if you miss your target you just end up lookin mad foolish.

      ^^^

      exhibit a.

      • forcefed said, on June 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

        My bad, next time I’ll make sure to step correct.

      • WULU said, on June 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm

        Haha. It’s all good

  6. Deyen said, on June 17, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Fuck Kid Cudi. Never been more disappointed after a show in my entire life. I will never support him in any way ever again, especially after that I got your money so I don’t care comment. That comment is everything that’s wrong with rappers these days. I understand as a rapper you have to cope with the fact that you can’t please everyone, but when everyone that went to your show says it was terrible (not including the musically uneducated teenage girls that will jock even if you were to whip out your dick on stage and piss on their faces) you are doing something wrong. Doing a 40 minute set for a show that cost 40+ dollars is not okay.

  7. […] about Kid Cudi, as some of you may remember, I was a wee-bit critical of Mr. Rager. Ok I fib. I went in on dude. It happens. But that was a ways while back. Ancient Mesopotamian history if you will. My animosity […]


Leave a Reply

