Dollars Make Sense.

Wiz.

Posted in reviews., visuals. by Jason Mekkam on May 17, 2010

Fact: 85% of live hip-hop shows suck.

Being the avid connoisseur of all things lyrical that I be, this pains me. I suppose tho some of the blame has to be placed upon the nature of the beast itself. Unless an MC is backed by a live band (which is a major win for everybody), rappers more often than not succumb to the mercy of sporadic disc jockeys, faulty sound equipment, or wack venue acoustics.

Fully aware of this discouraging truth, however, I still attend. Out of hope. Or delusion. Or whatever. As I’ve said: I’m a microphone fiend. I need my fix. But on the occasions when I do hit up a show that breaks the cycle of suck, shit’s a lot like finding that lone onion ring in an order of medium-sized Burger King french fries. Fucking amazing.

Enter Wiz Khalifia.

Last Saturday, the crew and I made five-hour long trek up north to catch the Pittsburg native and Paper Planes alum perform live at the Nectar Lounge in Seattle. Everything about the show was on point. Very chill. The Nectar, located in Seattle’s Fremont District, is a small bar/lounge which was a major plus in my book. Smaller shows are my fave. Way more intimate (pause). Also, the concert was 21+ which meant drinks. Lots o’ drinks. I was double fisting pretty much the whole night (pause. again damn it yall. again. yall).

Fashawn opened things up and put the crowd in a good mood. Then Young Khalifa came out and simply killed it. Kid definitely has stage presence for days. And the sound was great. A couple minutes into his set, the whole thing felt more like a house party than a concert. Real comfortable like. The audience was feeling it. Mad shits and giggles all around. Before long everyone was singing along, word for word. I most def thought the place was fittin to explode by the time In The Cut came on. Bananas indeed.

So to Young Khalifa, kudos I give. Thank you for a very legit performance/renewing my faith.

Taylor gang or die.

If you ever get a chance to see Wiz live, I highly recommended it. Doctor’s orders. And if you’re one of the three people who haven’t already, please do yourself a favor and download his latest mixtape Kush and Orange Juice stat.

Check out more pics from the concert..

Wiz’s fans tend to bring their own smoke machines to his shows I guess. To hell with special effects right?

I don’t even know this guy. But I always admire folks who refuse to let dilapidated limbs hinder their kicking it priorities. Dedication.

One super satisfied customer. Bet.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Omari said, on May 20, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Nigga I was there!! shit was kinda John Blaze, kinda Stove Top.

  2. […] had high hopes for you, especially after witnessing such obstacles so successfully overcome just two weeks ago. It’s because I admire your talent and originality that I’m not merely disappointed […]

  3. aparently im Darrnell said, on June 1, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    As I was absent in my native State for this showing, I did not miss out. He plugged me and other taylor gang members at the Roseland theater in Portland, OR the night before. Show rocked hard. Real hard. So hard this XXL freshman moved into my #1 fav rapper. By no means is this a easy task to come by either. Mad respect for this dude right here. He’s got club bangers, panty droppers for the ladies, bars, doobie rollers, and most importantly real hip-hop.

    P.S. One Negative. Khalifa did not smoke one thing on stage. Coming from a doobie smoker I was hurt

  4. JPD3 said, on June 1, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    say she never been

  5. Skillz. « Dollars Make Sense. said, on June 3, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    […] our trip to Seattle, we came across this street performer at the infamous Pikes Place […]

  6. […] Wiz Khaifa. I like him. In the Dollar Make Sense.’s short existence, he’s already garnered not one, but two posts all to himself. An impressive feat no doubt fittin to appear on his Wikipedia page […]

  7. […] with their music, both were forgettable. Um.. but his tattoos were pretty nifty tho. And a bit OD. Wiz Khalifa’s cousin […]


Leave a Reply

